Tuesday, 17 July 2018

Candidates named for borough elections

THE candidates for next month’s Wokingham Borough Council elections in Wargrave and Charvil have been announced.

THE candidates for next month’s Wokingham Borough Council elections in Wargrave and Charvil have been announced.

Incumbent John Halsall (Conservative) is again standing for the seat in the Remenham, Wargrave and Ruscombe ward, along with Martin Alder (Liberal Democrat), Kezia Black (Green) and Stuart Crainer (Labour).

The Charvil ward will be contested by incumbent Nick Ray (Independent), Emma Hobbs (Conservative) and Brian Scott (Labour).

Voting will take place on Thursday, May 5, with the results due to be announced later that night.

Mr Halsall, who is married with three grown-up children, is a chartered accountant who moved to Remenham from Henley 35 years ago. He has been a member of Remenham Parish Council for more than 20 years and is currently chairman. He succeeded fellow Conservative Claire Stretton on the borough council in a by-election in 2011.

He was re-elected in 2012 after winning 69 per cent of the vote (937 votes from 1,357).

Mr Alder is a commercial pilot who has lived in Twyford for more than 25 years.

He is married to a former headteacher and has two adult children. Mr Alder finished second behind Mr Halsall in both the 2011 and 2012 elections.

Ms Black is a social worker, of Victoria Road, Wargrave. She stood for the Twyford ward in last year’s borough council elections but missed out to John Jarvis (Conservative).

Mr Crainer, of Braybrooke Road, Wargrave, is a journalist, writer and editor.

He previously contested the ward at an election in 2014 but was beaten by Bob Pitts (Conservative).

Mr Ray, of Strathmore Drive, Charvil, was first elected to the ward in 2012 with 414 out of 882 votes.

He works in the energy industry and has served on Charvil Parish Council and the junior cricket club and has opened local facilities including tennis courts and the new Charvil Piggott Primary School.

Mrs Hobbs, a company administrator, of Old Bath Road, Charvil, previously served as borough councillor for the ward from 2008 to 2012, when she was beaten by Mr Ray.

Mr Scott is a trade union officer who lives in Charvil Meadow Road, Charvil.

He previously stood for Labour in the ward in the borough council elections in 2004 and 2008.

Residents will be able to vote from 7am to 10pm. For Wargrave voters, there will be polling stations at the Old Pavilion in Recreation Road, Crazies Hill village hall, Remenham and Hare Hatch village halls and Loddon Hall in Twyford while the Charvil polling stations will be at Jubilee Hall in Park View Drive North and the village hall in The Hawthorns.

The count will take place at Loddon Valley leisure centre in Reading and results will be posted online at www.wokingham.gov.uk/elections

An uncontested election for Charvil Parish Council means 10 councillors will be re-elected.

They are Chris Drew (chairman), James Bell, Liz Black, John Davies, Jim Gillett, John Hobson, Jackie Jeffery, Lauren McCann, Fiona Mowlem and Paul Mundy.

The election for the Thames Valley police and crime commissioner will also be held on May 5.

The candidates are Laetisia Carter (Labour), John Howson (Liberal Democrat), incumbent Anthony Stansfeld (Conservative) and Lea Trainer (UKIP).

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say