Tuesday, 17 July 2018

Pupils have edge over staff at regatta

MORE than 100 students took to the river for the annual Shiplake College Regatta.

Pupils were split into mixed crews, featuring boys from Year 9 to 13 and at least one girl. Each boat was captained by a senior rower, and entered into a knockout competition.

After successfully navigating their way through the semi-finals, Cawthorne’s Captives and Marsh’s Monsters faced off in the grand final.

As a prelude to the main event, the Giants, captained by Phillip Green, won the plate final. First eight cox Dom Marsh then successfully steered his team to victory, holding off Henry Cawthorne’s crew.

Marsh was joined in the winning boat by Sunny Pong, Zeb Hjaltun-Rayner, Cosmo Hearnden, Marcus Colao, Matthew Aldridge, Charles Galligan, Alice White and fellow first eight member Harry Berkley.

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say