Friday, 20 July 2018

GB junior Gass to cox Blue Coat eight

SEVEN boats from local schools and colleges will compete in the Princess Elizabeth Cup, Temple Cup, Fawley Cup and Diamond Jubilee Cup but five of them will have to get through the qualifying races this evening (Friday) if they are to make it into tomorrow’s draw.

In the Temple Cup, George Howell, James Maden, Theo Meenderink, Marcus Smith, Joe Bright, Fraser Jarrett, Will Batt and Henry Bennett plus cox Will Perry will represent Blue Coat with several crew members making their Henley debut. Shiplake College has also entered a crew in this event. In the Princess Elizabeth Cup, GB junior Alex Gass will cox the Blue Coat crew of Tom Rees, Sasha Skoryk, Matt Kemp, Llewelyn Milford-Moore, Andrew Mole, Peter Batt, Tom Bright and Jacob Lancashire. Six members of this crew competed at Henley last year.

Shiplake College and the Oratory School in Woodcote have also entered crews in this event. Shiplake, who have been boosted by their silver medal at the National Schools Regatta and gold at the Reading Amateur Regatta in recent weeks, have high hopes of making significant progress. The crew is made up of cox Dom Marsh, Dom Parnell, Harry Vardigans, Harry Hogan, Tom Arnold, Max Hearnden, Henry Cawthorne, Tom Berkley and Harry Berkley. Both Vardigans and Hearnden have represented GB at junior level. The wet weather hampered the Oratory School’s preparations with the crew’s first outing on the water not taking place until March. There are two returning members of last year’s crew and the coxing role has stayed in the Cormack family with Rupert taking over from his older brother Rory.

Shiplake College has also entered crews in the Fawley Cup and newly-named Diamond Jubilee Cup.

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say