Monday, 24 September 2018

Leander and Shiplake crews win schools&rsquo regatta medals

LEANDER&rsquoS junior athletes scored a notable success at the National Schools Regatta at Dorney Lake last

LEANDER&rsquoS junior athletes scored a notable success at the National Schools Regatta at Dorney Lake last weekend when their J18 quad scull took the championship bronze medal.

Tom Placidi, Ben Holt, Tom Mortimer and Cameron Forsyth won their semi-final, two seconds ahead of Marlow, to draw the lane between Windsor Boys and Claires Court for the final.

Windsor Boys were first to the 500m point, but Claires Court overhauled the leaders into the second quarter, with Leander third, and the positions remained unchanged to the line.

Meanwhile the Leander B crew, including Piotr Golawski, Hadley Butcher, David Few and Tom Ballinger, won gold in the event for second boats.

The youngest Leander crew, racing as Star and Arrow, was the J16 quadruple scull of Miles Devereux, Oliver Pizura, Benjamin Smeeton and Isaac Minns. After a strong time trial the crew moved through to contest the B final, finishing in ninth place overal.

Elsewhere Shiplake College also came away from the regatta with a number of medals.

The first eight, after doing well in their timed trials, finished second in their semi-final to secure a place in the A final of the championship eights — the Queen Mother Challenge Cup.

In a close final the crew of Oliver Gerrard, William Dolin, Henry Blois-Brooke, Will Carey, Sebastian Newman, Christian Hjortland Marks, Tom Scott, Tim Waller and cox Jamie Pond finished fourth behind Westminster, Eton and Radley.

The coxless four crew of Will Carey, Sebastian Newman, Henry Blois-Brooke and Tim Waller secured bronze in the championship coxless fours, just losing out to Westminster and Hampton.

The J15 eight of Josh O&rsquoHare, Sam Hargreaves, Richard Adams, Freddie Lind, Morgan Taylor, Marcus Brown, Zack Green, Ethan Caldeira and cox Luke Tremayne also secured bronze in their race. The girls&rsquo crew in the J18G4+, made up of Olivia Lucas, Hannah Brown, Charlotte Scales, Claudia Adams and cox Maisie Webb, won the C final of the Jim Mason Plate while Lucy Walker won the D final in the Internationals&rsquo Cup. Anna Davies and Maddie McNerney, rowing in the championship G2x, were placed in the C final of the Ferguson Bowl race, where they finished fifth.

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say