Wednesday, 25 November 2020

Tories win Henley Town Council majority

THE Conservatives have secured a majority on Henley Town Council. Read on for full details of today's count.

THE Conservatives have secured a majority on Henley Town Council.

Following today's election count at the town hall, the party controls nine of the authority's 16 seats.

Six Tory candidates were elected to the Henley North ward. Julian Brookes, Simon Smith and Dylan Thomas joined existing councillors Will Hamilton, Lorraine Hillier and David Nimmo Smith.

Newcomer Helen Chandler-Wilde was elected to Henley South alongside incumbents Sam Evans and Martin Akehurst.

Meanwhile, rival party Henley Residents' Group has increased its number of seats on the council from five to seven.

New member David Eggleton was elected to Henley North alongside incumbent Ian Reissmann, while in Henley South existing councillors Kellie Hinton and Stefan Gawrysiak were joined by Sarah Abey, Sarah Miller and Jane Smewing.

The final seat for the latter was decided by a blind draw from a ballot box after a tie between Ms Smewing and the Conservatives' Rowan Fuller.

There are no longer any independent Henley town councillors after David Silvester, Elizabeth Hodgkin, Pam Phillips and Jeni Wood failed to get re-elected.

Councillor Dieter Hinke (Con), chairman of the authority's planning and neighbourhood planning governance committees, also failed to win a seat in Henley South.

Also standing in Henley North were Karan Takhar, Simon Narracott and Charles Mason, of HRG, the Green Party's Richard Rule and Liberal Democrat Neill Hendry.

HRG's Glen Lambert, the Conservatives' Dr Fiona Galton-Fenzi and Green hopefuls Ian Petrie and Elizabeth Geake also stood in Henley South.

The outlying parishes of Goring, Whitchurch and Watlington were also contested.

In Goring, councillors Emrhys Barrell, David Brooker, Matthew Brown, Mary Bulmer, Catherine Hall, Lawrie Reavill, John Wills and deputy chairman Kevin Bulmer kept their seats.

The new councillors are Brandon Hancox and Bryan Urbick. Abel Westerhof, another prospective newcomer, was not elected and Alan Strong, who was the council's chairman, chose not to stand again.

In Whitchurch, Pearl Slatter lost her place as eight candidates contested seven seats. Existing councillors Vincent Aldridge, Jim Donahue, Laura Lucas, vice-chairman Keith Brooks and chairman Harry Butterworth remain on the council.

They will be joined by newcomers James Norman and David Bowen.

Finally, in Watlington, parish council chairman Ian Hill was re-elected, as were councillors Elizabeth Winton, Bob West, Robin Wilson and Tony Williamson.

Also elected were newcomers Jo Read, Tom Bindoff, Terry Jackson, Jane Bryant, Roger Beattie, Rachel Huckvale, Matt Reid, Jeremy Bell and Jon Lorimer.

Vice-chairman David Tindale did not stand, nor did councillors Robert Barber, Roddy Orr and Nick Greaves.

Councillors Tim Horton, Nick Hancock, Rhian Woods and Neil Boddington were not re-elected, nor were prospective newcomers Rob Smith, Gus McFadyen and Alastair Stevenson.

See next week's Henley Standard for a full report. A video report will also appear on our website.

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say