Saturday, 28 November 2020

Tories win South Oxfordshire District Council

THE Conservatives have won 33 of 36 seats on South Oxfordshire District Council.

THE Conservatives have won 33 of 36 seats on South Oxfordshire District Council.

In the 12 seats for Henley and the surrounding villages, Stefan Gawrysiak (HRG) was the only candidate not to come from the Tories.

He was the third most popular in the Henley-on-Thames ward behind Lorraine Hillier (Con) and Joan Bland (Con).

Cllr Gawrysiak pipped Will Hall (Con), a sitting district councillor, to the final spot from the town by 89 votes.

Elizabeth Hodgkin and Jeni Wood both lost their district council seats finishing sixth and eight respectively in the count.

Elsewhere Henley mayor Martin Akehurst (Con) took one of two seats in Sonning Common along with Paul Harrison (Con).

Both received more than 1,500 votes than third placed David Winchester (Lab).

Kevin Bulmer (Con) and David Nimmo Smith (Con) will both sit on parish or town, district and county councils simultaneously.

Cllr Bulmer was elected in Goring whilst Cllr Nimmo Smith won one of two seats in Woodcote and Rotherfield - the other taken by 24-year-old Charles Bailey (Con).

Anna Badcock (Con) held her seat in Watlington whilst Robert Simister (Con) was also re-elected in Kidmore End and Whitchurch.

Felix Bloomfield (Con), who chaired the district council's planning committee prior to the election, won his seat in Benson along with Richard Pullen (Con).

Cllr Bloomfield has been voted onto the district council for a fifth consecutive term.

Henley's town council results will be counted this morning (Saturday) from 10am. For the results as they happen read our live updates here.

See more in next week's Henley Standard.

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say