Saturday, 12 June 2021

Hurley sides topple league leaders

HURLEY ran out 50-run winners away to Division 2 league leaders WINCHMORE HILL on Saturday.

HURLEY ran out 50-run winners away to Division 2 league leaders WINCHMORE HILL on Saturday.

Naeem Akhtar batted in excess of two hours to help build a defendable total for Hurley but despite this Winchmore seemed on course for victory until the 14th over of their innings.

Winchmore captain Sajid Khan invited Hurley to bat first on a dry wicket. Clive Williams steered the first ball from Mohammed Kamran to gully and was out with the score on 11. Phil Ridgeway was caught at cover point in Zia-ul-Hassan’s first over with the score on 55. Akhtar added 79 in 19 overs with Steve Taylor until the latter was bowled with the score on 148.

Qumar Aziz fielded a sharp lofted shot from Akhtar before leaving the field to attend hospital with an injured thumb. Akhtar was eventually fifth out with the score on 174. Ramesh Sistla, Parvinder Hunjan and Vikram Bhagwani all looked to maintain the momentum while Bhagwani and Denis Day remained undefeated at the close of the Hurley innings.

In reply Babar Ali played at a wide delivery in Bhagwani’s first over, and found Ridgeway’s hands at short extra cover. Waqas Kiyani added 57 for the second wicket before being bowled by Akhtar in the ninth over. Adnan Shazad was adjudged lbw in the 13th over with the score on 92.

Wajahat Ali drove well on the off-side while riding his luck. Ridgeway, luckless after six overs, brought himself off and turned to Varun Sharma who had Wajahat bowled off his pads, and struck for the second time in the same over when Paul Todd caught Mohammed Ali in the covers.

Ridgeway moved to long-on and caught Majid Ahmed off Sharma in the 22nd over. Sajid Khan and Mohammed Kamran steadied the innings for a while but Ridgeway and Akhtar returned to wrap up victory for Hurley with 14 overs to spare.


P Ridgeway, c Kiyani, b Ul-Hassan 22

C Williams, c M Ali, b M Kamran 0

N Akhtar, b Kiyani 80

V Sharma, b Ul-Hassan 6

Steve Taylor, b Kiyani 28

R Sistla, b Kiyani 22

P Hunjan, c Babar Ali, b M Kamran 19

S Uppaladhadiam, c S Khan,

b Kiyani 0

P Todd, b Kiyani 11

V Bhagwani, not out 16

D Day, not out 5

Extras 22


B Ali, c Ridgeway, b Bhagwani 0

W Ali, b Sharma 63

W Kiyani, b Akhtar 13

A Shazad, lbw, b Akhtar 11

S Khan, b Akhtar 28

M Ali, c Todd, b Sharma 8

M Ahmed, c Ridgeway, b Sharma 16

M Kamran, not out 34

D Reading, c Akhtar, b Ridgeway 1

Z Ul-Hassan, b Ridgeway 0

Extras 7


HURLEY 2nds ran out winners by four runs in a thrilling finish in their Division 3 match at Shepherds Lane against champions ENGLEFIELD.

The visitors won the toss and invited the hosts to bat first. The Englefield opening attack of Dan Robertson and Cameron McPhail conceded just three runs from the first half a dozen overs.

The first loose delivery was seized upon by Morgans but he could only slap it to mid-off where Joe Van der Merwe held an easy catch. Abdullah Ali replaced Morgans and it was not until the 22nd over that the runs scored overtook the overs bowled on the scoreboard.

Alex Newell replaced McPhail and Ali hit him for a six and a four off consecutive balls. By the drinks break, the score had crawled to 47 but without any further loss of wickets. Jameel Butt achieved the breakthrough, producing a late swinging delivery to clip Walton’s off stump at 65-2. Butt proceeded to rip through the middle order, taking five wickets for six runs in half a dozen overs as the hosts slumped to 96-8.

The Hurley pairing of Dave Pollitt and Nigel Haines restored order to the innings with a partnership of 20 for the ninth wicket. When Pollitt fell to Newell, Dave Walton joined Haines for the last two overs adding 15 runs which turned out to be vital.

In reply Hurley opened the attack with Pollitt and Haines bowling with the old ball. With a run rate of only 2.75 per over required, the visitors could afford to take their time and Joe Van der Merwe played out two maidens from Pollitt.

Hicks reached 13 by the seventh over when an off-cutter from Pollitt bowled him off his pads. Two more runs were added before Haines trapped Eddy Newman lbw.

A good spell bowling from Pollitt with four wickets for no runs in two overs knocked the stuffing out of Englefield. The 13th over of the innings proved unlucky for Englefield, as Toby Deacon drove Pollitt to the cover boundary and then got an edge to the keeper off the next delivery trying to repeat the shot. Pollitt’s eighth over started with the wicket of Hassan Butt, chipping to Abdullah Ali short extra. The next delivery saw Todd Lindley bowled through the gate. McPhail survived the hat-trick ball but that was only a temporary reprieve as Pollitt’s final ball of the over took his off stump to leave the visitors on 35-6. Newell and Van der Merwe put on 30 for the seventh wicket, before Newell chipped Pollitt to Arshad at mid-wicket. Van der Merwe then lofted Haines down the ground straight into the hands of Yasir Ali. Three balls later Raza tried the same thing, only to find Scott Taylor at long-on.

With 65 runs still needed Haines had Robertson caught at gully, but unfortunately he had overstepped the crease for a no-ball. Pollitt and Haines couldn’t pick up the last wicket before they were bowled out, leaving Robertson and Jameel Butt to try and eke out an unlikely victory.

Arshad bowled tightly but a couple of Dave Walton overs cost 17 runs, leaving 30 more required. Walton was replaced by Taylor but 10 runs from his over and five off Arshad left nine more required. The next over was entrusted to David Morgans who conceded four runs from wides before the eighth delivery of the over was hit to cover by Robertson, where Abdullah Ali dived to his left to take the catch to win the match.


M Walton, b Butt 23

A Morgans, c Van der Merwe,

b Robertson 0

A Ali, b c McPhail, b Newell 36

I Arshad, c Deacon, b Butt 10

T Balchin, c Hicks, b Butt 5

Y Ali, c Raza, b Butt 4

Scott Taylor, b Butt 7

D Morgans, b Newell 0

D Pollitt, c McPhail, b Newell 5

N Haines, not out 24

D Walton, not out 4

Extras 13

TOTAL (9 wkts) 131


J Van der Merwe, c Y Ali, b Haines 23

P Hicks, b Pollitt 13

E Newman, lbw, b Haines 0

T Deacon, c M Walton, b Pollitt 7

H Butt, c A Ali, b Pollitt 0

T Lindley, b Pollitt 0

C McPhail, b Pollitt 0

A Newell, c Arshad, b Pollitt 20

S Raza, c Taylor, b Haines 0

D Robertson, c A Ali, b D Morgans 14

J Butt, not out 33

Extras 17


Best bowling: D Pollitt 6-32.

More News:

POLL: Have your say