Friday, 25 June 2021

Appleton steps down at Kidmore

KIDMORE END Cricket Club held their annual general meeting at their Gallowstree Common pavilion on Monday of last week.

Members were given a review of playing performances of the senior XIs with highlights being the first team winning the fair play award for Division 2A of the Thames Valley League, the midweek team winning the Reading Midweek League Cup competition and Mark New winning the Thames Valley League level seven batting award.

Several new young players emerged and played pivotal roles in matches throughout the season which bodes well for the future.

The junior section benefited greatly from the professional coaching services of Performance Cricket both in pre-season and during the normal season and it is clear that strong foundations have been established for next season. Nick Holroyd and Charlotte Peacock were congratulated for their efforts along with the strong support team they built up.

Special mention was made of the girls’ section which took off this season under the leadership of Jules Cook and the club looks forward to seeing these young players develop further next season.

The club is in a sound financial position and treasurer Alan Pigden was congratulated for his stewardship . The club thanked long serving welfare officer Julia Appleton, who after many years service in the post, has decided to stand down. Mark New paid tribute to the outgoing office for her level of service to the role along with her dedication and commitment to all things Kidmore End.

The main officers of the committee for 2017 see little change with stability being the key word as Mark New continues as chairman and Jeff Sheldon as vice-chairman. Fred Curzon remains as president, David New as secretary and Alan Pigden as treasurer. Nick Holroyd remains in office as junior cricket officer.

On the field James Frost continues as first team Saturday captain and Guy Ashby as vice-captain. Chris Pigden is once again Saturday second team captain with Joe Webster as vice-captain. Todd Butler remains as Saturday third team captain while Jake Easton continues as the Sunday captain.

More News:

POLL: Have your say