Tuesday, 03 August 2021

Henley College praise students' achievements

THE achievements of students at The Henley College were recognised at its annual education awards.

Thirty-five teenagers were presented with certificates at the ceremony in the college’s Rotherfield Hall.

The maths prize went to Will Manson, from Shiplake Cross, who was described as an “outstanding mathematician”.

The 18-year-old achieved an A* in A-level further maths and then taught himself six additional maths units to achieve an A* in the additional maths A-level.

Will, who earned a place at Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge, said: “I’m obsessed with maths but I had to put in a significant amount of work to pass the sixth term examination paper, a large part of my Cambridge offer. There were plenty of nine-hour library sessions.

“It would not have been possible without the unending support of my parents, who gave me the space and time to study. I also owe an awful lot to the staff at Shiplake Primary School, Gillotts School and The Henley College, who have supported my interest in maths for the past 14 years.”

Laura Burgess, from Sonning Common, won the A-level award after impressing her tutors with her academic ability and work ethic. She achieved four A-levels and an extended project writing a novella during her two years at the college, gaining two A*s and three A grades.

Laura, who is a grade eight saxophonist, wants to become a doctor and undertook a range of work experience, including three weeks at a hospital in India. She has taken up a place at Birmingham University to study medicine.

College principal Tom Espley said: “The awards evening is one of the highlights of the college year and an occasion to celebrate the wonderful achievements of our students on a wide variety of courses. This success is down to their hard work and the superb standard of teaching at the college as well as the support of their families.”

Awards were sponsored by local businesses and organisations including the Henley Standard, Invesco Perpetual, BCD Travel, W H Smith, the Rotary Club of Henley Bridge and Henley Theatre Services.

The other award winners were as follows:

Pathways — Molly Shatford;
Modern languages — Ruth Phillips;
Business — Charlie Maunders, Louise Peddle and Sheh-Zeb Khan;
Biology — Sara Church;
Physics — George Maxted;
Geography — Raxcha Maharjan;
Information technology — Ian Brakspear;
International Baccalaureate — James Russ-Silsby;
Photography — Jennifer Tavender;
Music — Andy Hockey;
History — Zoe Pike;
English — James Reynolds;
Chemistry — Francesco Petri;
Geology — Rhys Jones;
Engineering — Krishan Panya;
Environmental studies — Ben Crake;
Classics — Lauren Cox;
Government and politics — Ben Jarrett;
Economics — Alexander Hurst;
Dance — Amy Morvell;
Travel and tourism — Georgina Vickery;
Drama — Chloe Golding;
Forensic science — Ellen Sarvari;
Early Years — Pia Vejsholt;
Health and social care — Charlotte Berry;
Apprenticeships, hairdressing — Katie Rumsey and Sophie Dean;
Personal achievement — Oliver Comins, Elspeth Windsor and Amy Lishman.

More News:

POLL: Have your say