Sunday, 07 August 2022

Former GCSE pupils praised at Gillotts prize-giving

FORMER pupils of Gillotts School in Henley returned for a prize-giving ceremony.

FORMER pupils of Gillotts School in Henley returned for a prize-giving ceremony.

Sixty-seven awards were presented to the teenagers, who left in the summer after taking GCSEs or diplomas.

The presentations were made by Henley Mayor Stefan Gawrysiak, who taught at the school for 30 years before retiring in 2011.

Up to three prizes were awarded in each subject and there were awards for the best contributions to each of the school’s six houses.

There was also an overall prize for outstanding achievement, which went to Amy Lovell, and another for outstanding attitude, which went to Kai Agnew.

Amy, of Lowfield Road, Sonning Common, was awarded 10 A* grades and three As at GCSE and Kai, of St Luke’s Road, Maidenhead, achieved eight A* grades and two As.

This year, 72 per cent of the school’s 171 year 11 pupils achieved grades A* to C, including English and maths, equalling the school’s record result set last year.

Ninety per cent of pupils achieved five or more passes at grades A* to C and a third of all grades were either A* or A. Thirty-seven per cent of pupils achieved five or more A* or A grades.

Headteacher Catharine Darnton told the students and their parents: “They have done us proud and it is great to be able to say ‘well done’ in an altogether calmer environment than the one I last saw them in, which was results day.”

Cllr Gawrysiak said: “Enormous praise must go to Catharine, the leadership team, the governors and staff and I must also mention you as parents.

“You have looked after all your children through the stress of exams and done really well. But, of course, the main reason we are here is to celebrate the results of the pupils.

“As an ex-teacher, I know the hard work that goes into coming up with those results. We are enormously proud to have a school of such quality in Henley.”

The awards were as follows:

Art and design: Lauren White and Hannah Snookes-Owen

Art BTEC: Annie Cooke and Millie Traynor-Bain

Biology: Shiraz Butt and Annabel Bench

Business studies: Claire Adamson, Rosie Heinricci and Sara Bridges

Chemistry: Callum Anderson and Harry Sawbridge

Childcare BTEC: Chloe Andrews and Rebecca-Ann Strong

Computing: Joshua Bone and Ryan Miles

Dance: Ellen Oliver and Myfi Mountford

Drama: Monica Marsh and Dan Houghton

English language: Amy Lovell and Daniel Walker

English literature: Sophia Thomalla and Zoe Forbes-Pyfrom

Enrichment BTEC: McKie Twigger and Georgia Smith

French: Jack Waiton and Lauren Robinson

Geography: Stephanie Barnes and Jack Dilger

German: Lauren Herrington and Dominique Redmond

History: Matthew Tillyer and William Bourne

House prizes: Athena — James Lucas; Brigantia — Ibby Hearn; Calliope — Alyssia Smith; Itzamna — Lara Wirt; Morrigan — Megan Parker; Zephyrus— Jonathan Betts

ICT diploma: Freja Brunning and Katherine Bullock

Maths: Adam Moneim and Harry Sims

Media: Katie Sheppard and Kaan Sengunes

Music: William Walker and Anthony Frankum

Outstanding achievement: Amy Lovell

Outstanding attitude: Kai Agnew

PE: Millie Anderson and Georgia Chapman

Physics: Kai Agnew and Anna Peters

Product design: Megan Parker and George Piercey

Psychology: Lara Wirt and Katie Dear

RS: Luke Herrington and Matthew Breeze

Science (additional): Melody Sutherland and James Eggleton

Science BTEC: Lucy Collins

Skillforce: Daniel Lewis

Sociology: Georgina Riley and Tom Smith-Zaitlik

Spanish: Tom Hearn and Bryony Walker.

More News:

POLL: Have your say