Tuesday, 23 October 2018

Youngsters first in line at annual awards ceremony

FORTY-THREE young footballers received awards at AFC Henley’s annual prize ceremony held at the town hall.

Henley Mayor Martin Akehurst presented prizes to members of 19 youth teams ranging from under-nines to under-18s.

Hugh Barklem won the prize for top scorer with 40 goals. He plays for the under-18 Hurricanes, who were named the most successful team. The prize for the longest-serving player was awarded jointly to Hugh, Tom Maskell and Oscar Wiseman.

Person of the year went to Philip Maskell and the special recognition award went to Sally Pearce.

There were 19 awards for each team’s most improved player, which went to Luke Morgan, Jo Jo Barry, Alex Wilson, Charlie Strachan-Jarvis, Oliver Broadbent, Aidan Kaufman, Archie Barker, Leon Bradshaw, Abhishek Thapa, Pawel Kaczorowski, Seemit Gurung, Joe Neighbour, Joshua Steede, Patrick Snookes-Owen, Alex Robinson, Jack Paterson, Luke Cassin, Freddie Borg and Nathan Steede.

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say