Tuesday, 16 October 2018

Director of football appointed

AT Henley Town Football Club’s annual general meeting on Wednesday of last week, secretary Tony

AT Henley Town Football Club’s annual general meeting on Wednesday of last week, secretary Tony Kingston, in making his report, referred to the lack of support for non-league football generally nowadays, with most committee members at many clubs having passed their 70th birthdays, writes John Bailey. The lack of support for the game in Henley was particularly notable, with their attendance figures being the second worst in the Uhlsport Hellenic League.

A youth club, meeting on Friday evenings at the club’s ground, had got off to a satisfactory start. Nathan Chapman, head groundsman at Charlton Athletic, had given valuable help concerning the upkeep of the pitch, and Charlton had donated some items of equipment.

Treasurer Michael Trendall reported a financial position that looked healthy in the short term, but two annual donations from Invesco Perpetual had been received within the same year’s working, while no insurance money had yet been received to cover the break-in at the club. The sum of £2,000 had so far been obtained from Wokingham and Emmbrook FC due to the ground-sharing arrangement that had been in force since the turn of the year.

A number of grants had been obtained for various purposes, and the bonus ball lottery had continued its part in keeping the club solvent.

On the playing side, the first team had had a satisfactory season, but the reserve side had had to be wound up, the Sunday side had struggled, and the youth team had now lost its manager.

Planning permission had now been obtained for an extension to the existing stand and the erection of a new covered area.

A few amendments were made to the club rules, with the post of director of football being reinstated after an interval of some years. Craig Sumner was elected to this position.

The president (John Bailey), chairman (Kim Chapman), vice-chairman (Phil Bell) and secretary (Tony Kingston) were all re-elected to their posts, but Michael Trendall stood down as treasurer, being succeeded by Simone Chapman. David Vine will be the new development officer, and the committee will be completed by Craig Hiscock, Mitchell Cooper, Sam Bell junior, Jonathon Bell, Stuart Hamblin and Lee Povey.

The Eric Bailey Memorial Cup for the person judged to have contributed most to the club in the past season was won by Kim Chapman for the second year running.

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say