Tuesday, 13 November 2018

Smith secures medal

SEAMUS Smith took the main honours in the Midweek medal at Caversham Heath.

SEAMUS Smith took the main honours in the Midweek medal at Caversham Heath.

Smith recorded three pars and only three bogeys in his round of net 70 to win Division 1. Runner-up was David Holloway with net 73 and third was James Millard on countback from Lee Kirton both with net 75.

Division 2 winner was Jim Wilson on countback from Neil Scott, both with net 72. Wilson bogeyed his last hole but Scott missed his chance with a triple bogey on the same hole. Third was Paul Lobban with net 77.

Kathy North and Luis Mesquita had a successful captain’s day with £540 raised for the captain’s charity, Parkinson’s UK.

The captain’s day competition was won by the team of Matt Gibson, Raymond Smith, James Cross and Andy Ward with 119 points. Second were John Winstanley, Chris Stacey and Darren Lawrence, on countback from Richard Norris, Santiago Fernandez-Garcia, Paul Lobban and Glen Dudman, both teams with 115 points.

Other prizewinners were: nearest the pin in two first hole - Chris Stacey; nearest the pin in two third hole – Michael Beaumont; nearest the pin in two ninth hole – John Winstanley; nearest the pin eighth hole – David Wise; nearest the pin 13th hole – Callum Peart; nearest the pin 17th hole – Darren Bonney; beat the pro on the eighth hole – Danny Dover, Andy Lambourne, Colin Leighton, Phil Booth, Greg Terefenko, Scott Munro, Chris Roberts, Gerry Rogers, Peter Bishop, Gary King, Matt Mills, Colin Stoute and David Wise.

The Charity Day was attended by 56 players and raised £2,363 for the captain’s charity, Parkinson’s UK. The Charity Day competition was won by Jim McGiveron with 40 points. Runner-up was Darren Bonney with 39 points and third was Ralph Lambert, on countback from Cosimo Codacci, both with 36 points.

Lynne Rumbold, Jeanette Taylor, Susie Matherson and Fiona Ives won the Weston Turville Open with 121 points, beating 25 other teams while Jane Weller and Kathy North won the Calcot Park Ladies Open. The duo beat 20 other teams with a winning score of 43 points in a betterball format.

Will Tate emerged triumphant in the weekend medal. Tate scored net 72 which included three birdies and nine pars, finishing birdie, birdie, par. Runner-up was Julien Constans with net 74 while third was Joseph Sicheri with net 76.

Division 2 winner was Adam Paul Baker with net 72. After a first half of 49 gross, Baker parred his last four holes. Second was Santiago Fernandez-Garcia with net 73 while third was Duncan Mee on countback from James Walker both with net 74.

Adrian Ford romped away to win Division 3 with net 68, including four pars. Runner-up was Christopher Searle with net 74. Third was Christopher Kendall on countback from Debbie Harris, both with net 77.

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say