Saturday, 13 August 2022

Play-off triumph earns Smith champion title

SEAMUS Smith is the new club champion at Caversham Heath Golf Club.

SEAMUS Smith is the new club champion at Caversham Heath Golf Club.

Smith clinched the title after a play-off against Matt Robertson.

Smith recorded rounds of 78+77=155 while Robertson had rounds of 77+78=155. Third was James Millard with 78+80=158, however, he recorded three bogeys in his last four holes, seven in total on the back nine of his final round.

Robertson led after round one with 77 with Smith Millard and last year’s champion Dave Williams one shot behind on 78. On Sunday Smith and Dave Brown both shot 77 - Smith finishing with a bogey — with Robertson a further shot behind.

Day one joint leader Williams looked as though he was going to repeat his success of last year with six holes remaining, but he then dropped eight shots on his last six holes – including a triple bogey on the 16th hole – and slumped to an 82 to finish joint fourth with Brown who shot an 83 on day one.

Nett champion was Philip Worswick after rounds of net 68+66=134. Runner-up was Jack Turrill net 71+75=146. Joint third were Christopher Searle net 77+72=148, Colin Stoute net 73+75=148 and James Millard 73+75=148.

Anne Smith clinched her sixth consecutive ladies’ club championship with rounds of 88+85=173. Runner-up was Lynne Rumbold 104+ 100=204 and third was Caroline Dover 112+104=216.

Smith was also net winner with 81+78=158. Second was Caroline Dover net 85+77=162 and third Lynne Rumbold net 86+82=168.

Dave Williams triumphed in Division 1 of the Midweek Stableford, shooting two birdies and 12 pars in his score of 38 points. Runner-up was Rob Winstanley on countback from James Walker, both with 37 points.

Division 2 winner was Christopher Searle with 35 points. Second was John North with 34 points and third was Andy Ward on countback from Ralph Lambert, both with 33 points.

Kevin Iremonger won the nine-hole Stableford competition with 38 points. Second was Keith Taylor, on countback from James Saunders, both with 37 points.

More News:

POLL: Have your say