Tuesday, 20 November 2018

Nathan and Sutton win Harris Trophy

THE May monthly medals were contested over two days at Badgemore Park last weekend.

THE May monthly medals were contested over two days at Badgemore Park last weekend.

On Saturday Division A was won by Martin Howard with a net 67. Second place went to Kevin Dempster with net 68 while Chris Bowman was third with a net 69.

Division B was won by Scott Arlett with a net 66 withTerry Howse second on net 67 and Peter Foster third, also on net 67. Doug Simmen won Division C with 38 points. In second place was David Watson with 37 while John Tugwell was third with 36.

The Sunday medal winner in Division A was Danny Fois with a net 65. Chris Haines was second on 66 and third was Nathan Cole with net 67.

Division B was won by Charles Lowe with a net 68. Second was John Bowers with net 70 and third Brent Levitt on net 71.

Calum Miller won Division C with 37 points in what was his third win in as many weeks. Andreas Jelden, also with 37 points, missed out on countback to finish second while Graeme Cheese was third with 35 points.

Also on Sunday the final round of the Bob Tanner Trophy was played, having been postponed in February due to heavy rain. Regaining the trophy was last year’s winner Mark Brooks.

Sarla Read romped to victory in the Ladies’ May medal at Caversham Heath. Read scored a net 72 to win by four shots from Jane Weller with a net 76. Kathy North was third with a net 77.

Brian Connelly and Colin Parkes successfully fought their way through five rounds to win the Seniors’ Winter Greensomes trophy.

Wendy Nathan and her guest Barry Sutton were victorious in the Spring’s Harris Trophy on bank holiday Monday. The mixed invitation event attracted 48 players with Nathan and Sutton winning with 39 points.

Countback had to be used to find the overall winner as Ian Smith and his guest, Sue Allen also scored 39 points.

Last year’s winners Maggie Edson and Shaun Corcoran finished third with 38 points.

The countback rule was order of the day at Hennerton’s May medal as three players all tied with net 62s.

Robert Cox, club captain Paul Scrivener and Mark Hinson all posted the same score. When the countback system was installed, it was new member Cox who took first place. Cox scored a gross 74 off his 12 handicap which was also the lowest gross score of the competition. Cox also took the spoils in 0-15 handicap Division 1.

Second place, after countback, went to Scrivener in his first week at the helm, after he drove in to begin his year the previous weekend. Scrivener’s gross 79 off a 17 handicap was also enough for him to claim the 16-19 handicap Division 2 prize. Hinson had to settle for third overall. The 20-28 handicap Division 3 prize went to New Zealander Lachlan Cox who was fifth in the overall competition.

On the ladies’ medal Ruth Cassidy blew the field away with a blistering net 57. Cassidy saw her 25 handicap slashed two shots to 23. She was nine shots clear of Mavis Arding, who was second, with a net 66, level par to her handicap of 21.

The annual Honda mixed foursomes took place on Monday where 13 teams competed in the tricky pairs game which was played in a strokeplay format.

The paring that came out on top was last year’s lady captain Carolyn John and Alan Dean, as they scored an impressive net 62 off of their combined 20 handicap.

Second place went to clubhouse manager Paul Deaney and his wife Liz as they finished two shots behind after a net 64.

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say