Thursday, 11 August 2022

Stankard and Boisson triumph at scratch pairs competition

THE team of Wendy Jelden, Ken Arlett and Charles Lowe won this year’s McGrae Cup at Badgemore Park last Sunday

THE team of Wendy Jelden, Ken Arlett and Charles Lowe won this year’s McGrae Cup at Badgemore Park last Sunday with 81 points.

In second place was Lesley Shurman, Fizz Kassam and Joe Sears also with 79 points on countback. Barry Scott, Graham Cheese and Malcolm Sears were third with 79 points.

The competition, competed for by 21 teams, required the best Stableford score from each player recorded for the first six holes, two scores for the next six holes and all three scores needed for the last six holes.

The namesake of the competition Don McGrae, club captain of 1995, presented the trophies to the winners. All the proceeds of the competition plus a raffle draw went towards the men’s and ladies’ captains charities, the Stillbirth Fund and the Samaritans.

David Stankard and Hollis Boisson took the honours in the scratch pairs at Caversham Heath.

They scored 73 to pip Christopher Green and Dave Williams on countback. Third were David Brown and Ian Traynor on 74. Merv Jones and Jon Winstanley were fourth on countback from John Downey and Anne Smith, both on 75.

Sean Houghton and Edward Houghton claimed the month end greensomes competition — played off half combined handicap — with 46 points. Daniel Dover and Caroline Dover were second on 43 with Stephen Thumwood and Alec Hone third on 42. Midweek medal Division 1 winner was Alban Bynoe with a net 69. Second was Anthony George on net 73 and third was Mark Thompson on net 74. Division 2 winner was Alex Baddeley with a net 67. Runner-up was Will Tate on net 71 and third was Archie Smith with a net 72.

The only two of the competition was recorded by Stephen Gelsthorpe on the eighth hole.

Archie Smith claimed top spot in the Junior July medal with a net 73. Second was James Millard with a net 76 and third was Callum Peart on countback from Will Tate, both with net 77.

The August junior medal was won by Callum Peart with a net 68. Runner-up was James Millard with a net 69 and third was Matt Robertson on countback from Will Tate, both with a net 75. The Hurst Golf Club duo of Mandy Creed and Sue Hunt took the honours in the LGU Peugeot 208 Coronation Foursomes Area final held at Caversham Heath Golf Club.

The duo scored 41 points and now go to the grand final at St Andrew’s on September 16.

Top home duo were Kjersti Cannon and Issy Wiggins-Turner in 19th place with 30 points.

This year’s President’s Cup, competed for by 123 golfers at Goring and Streatley, was won by Cholsey’s Paul Whiting.

Whiting triumphed with a one under par gross 70, net 67. Runners-up were Simon Reeve and 16-year-old Alec Curtis, who both carded net 68s.

More News:

Summer play

GORING Parish Council is taking bookings for its ... [more]


POLL: Have your say