Tuesday, 13 November 2018

Countback rule earns Greslow honours at Caversham

LOW scoring continued as Hennerton held their September medal last weekend and this resulted in the competition scratch being reduced

LOW scoring continued as Hennerton held their September medal last weekend and this resulted in the competition scratch being reduced by one once again.

In the men’s medal it was Lachlan Cox who beat off some other low scores to claim the overall win and also the Division 3 prize. Lachlan was following on from regular playing partner Mark Hinson’s win in last month’s medal, as his net 54 was enough to win by two shots and receive a three shot cut to 17 in the process.

Second place went to former club captain Allan Dishington after he posted the lowest gross score of 68 for a net 56, which included an eagle two on the 10th hole. Dishington had the consolation of winning the Division 1 prize and was promptly cut one stroke to 11. Third spot overall went to Colin Quick who scored a net 57. Quick had his handicap cut by two shots to 13. Fourth place went to Roger Stapley who returned a net 60 and was also docked one shot in his handicap to 18.

In the ladies’ medal Francesca Gunn scored a net 57 to win by four shots. Gunn had her handicap cut by three shots to 26. Second place went to Brenda Haywood as she beat Susan Williams on countback after both ladies scored net 61s. Both Haywood and Williams had their handicaps cut by one shot each to 28 and 24 respectively.

Countback gave Michael Greslow the Division 1 honours in the monthly medal at Caversham Heath on Saturday.

Gresslow scored a net 72 as did Matthew Evans who had to be content with runners-up spot. Third was Gareth Goodall on countback from Russell Coombes, Simon Ingoldsby and Ian Traynor, all on net 74. Division 2 winner was Chris Parker with a net 70. Second was Alistair Wrenn with net 712 and third was Barry Reynolds with a net 73.

Stephen McKenzie won Division 3 with a net 68. Runner-up was Wendy Bushell with a net 72 and third was Ross Johnston on countback from Issy Wiggins-Turner and Jane Weller, all with net 76. Stuart Errington took the Division 1 honours in the Midweek Stableford at Caversham Heath.

Errington recorded a superb 44 points, five points ahead of his nearest rival.

Runner-up was Jose Fernandez-Moure with 39 points. Third was David Stankard on countback from Barry Reynolds, both with 38 points.

Division 2 winner was Colin Parkes on countback from Michael Biles, both with 35 points. Third was Roland Stevens on countback from Derek Pavlovic, both with 33 points.

Maxwell Johnson won the Junior US PGA Medal with a net 71. Second was Will Tate with a net 73 and third was Charlie Brown with a net 75.

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say