Thursday, 11 August 2022

Midweek medal win leads to handicap cut

JAMES Murphy was in fine form to clinch the Division 1 top prize in the Midweek Medal at Caversham Heath.

JAMES Murphy was in fine form to clinch the Division 1 top prize in the Midweek Medal at Caversham Heath.

Murphy recorded a net 70 to win by six shots. He went out in a one over gross 38, recording one birdie and 12 pars â?? and he even had room to afford to double bogey the last hole. His handicap has now been cut from 8.1 to 6.9.

Jack Russell was runner-up with net 76 with Jose Fernandez-Moure third with net 78.

In Division 2, three players all finished with net 80s. Simon Dicketts secured top spot by virtue of a better back nine, despite bogeying the last hole. Caroline Dover was second and Lynne Rumbold was third.

The ladies’ medal was won by Sarla Read with net 81. Second was Kathy North with net 84 and third was Sheila Evans with net 87.

The only two of the competition was recorded by Sarla Read on the 13th hole.

There was a tight finish to the junior medal last weekend with James Millard triumphing with net 74, including two birdies. Runner-up was Archie Smith with net 76 and third was Jack Bristow with net 79.

The mixed team posted two good wins in their last two games. An inaugural friendly against Ramsey Golf Club saw a comfortable home 5.5-0.5 win. The team consisted of: Danny Dover, Jane Weller, David Wise, Anne Smith, Richard Craven, John Downey, Sam Weller, Luis Mesquita, Rachel Downey, Barry Reynolds, Gary King and Caroline Dover.

Away to Royal Ascot, the team came away with a 5-4 victory. There were big wins from Rachel Downey and Jim McGiveron (8 and 6), Clive Adamson and Anne Smith (6 and 4) and Luis Mesquita and Julie Daniels (5 and 4). Fellow members of the team were: Danny Dover, Jane Weller, Mathew Brakspear, Sue Parcell, Caroline Dover, Dave Stankard, Alan Carter, Kjersti Cannon, Angie Adamson, Richard Drury, Fiona Ives and Peter Cannon.

The ladies entertained Harleyford and kept up their recent run of wins, with a fine 3-1 victory. Most of the games were very close, with two of the four going to the last hole. The team was: Jane Weller and Rachel Downey, Sheila Evans and Angie Adamson, Fiona Ives and Julie Daniels and Joyce Collins and Susie Matheson.

Playing in the Oshwal Society day at Caversham Heath on Friday of last week, home club member Sunil Shah recorded his first ever eagle â?? a three wood found the bottom of the cup on the par four 16th hole.

Elsewhere David Stankard won the Kearney Cup (18 holes singles matchplay knock-out competition) by defeating Matthew Evans in the final.

Eric Mumm and Steven Plyler are the new holders of the R&A Pairs Cup after defeating Andy Holmes and Jim McGiveron in the final. Mike Day and John North have clinched the John Pitt Senior Pairs Cup by defeating Joe Saunders and Keith Taylor in the final.

Two junior competitions were run in parallel at Henley Golf Club last weekend. There were 10 juniors in the 1-36 handicap group and five in the up to 54 handicap group.

The Peter Phillips Trophy for the best gross score was won by Alex Harris-White with a gross 76 which was two under his eight handicap. In second place with his round of 77 gross was Jack Fairhall with Alex’s brother Angus Harris-White taking third with 83. The cup was presented by Peter’s widow Pam Phillips.

The Nicol Cup was played as a handicap competition and first place went to Alex Morgan with a gross 86 which was eight under his 24 handicap. In second place was Alex Harris-White with 68 and in third Jack Fairhall with 72.

There were five of the younger golfers with higher handicaps, playing over eight holes and they all improved on their handicaps. Peter’s grandson Toby Phillips had the best score and had his handicap cut to 36, with Harry Ingram cut to 39 and Adam Bellman and Fergus Heggie being cut to 45 and Lauren Hilditch to 46.

Badgemore Park hosted the return leg of the match with Mapledurham Golf Club last week.

Holding a 4-2 lead from the first leg, the Badgemore team, captained by John Grace in the absence of the injured Ken Arlett, secured another win for an overall 8-4 victory.

The fourth round of the Hains Committee Cup was played on Saturday with 33 entries from which Michael O’Keefe emerged as the winner posting 42 Stableford points, a clear margin from Manjit Ahluwalia as runner-up with 37 points with John Mcllwee in third place with 36 points.

On Sunday the annual match between the ladies’ captains and men’s captains, past and present, saw the ladies retain their title with a 6-4 win.

More News:

Council trio

THREE new people have joined Goring Parish ... [more]


POLL: Have your say