Friday, 12 August 2022

Golfers in end of year club competitions

FORTY-EIGHT youngsters at Henley Golf Club took part in its final event of the year.

FORTY-EIGHT youngsters at Henley Golf Club took part in its final event of the year.

Competitions were played in several categories based on age and experience.

The main 18-hole Kathy Sparks competition for players with a handicap of 18 and below was won by Oscar Rait with 41 points, ahead of Louis Johnson with 34.

The Young Sparks went to Liam Hilditch, pipping Tim Armstrong and the nine-hole Junior Sparks was won by Olivia Steel ahead of Lauren Hilditch.

There was also on-course tuition and playing groups and an invitation group of Gillotts School pupils who have had a programme of lessons through the year.

After the game, the juniors sat down to a traditional Christmas lunch followed by the annual prize presentations attended by many parents and competition sponsors.

Cups and trophies for more than 20 competitions played in 2015 were presented which were followed by the annual performance awards.

Best performances by scholarship children went to Jake Hele — minis, Fergus Heggie — cadets, Lilyarna Franklin — coaching and Mairi Weir — membership.

The club’s special committee award for Junior of the Year went to Charlie Presswell. Finally the results of the season-long order of merit based on aggregate results from all the season’s competitions were announced.

The girls’ Golfer of the Year was Mairi Weir with Katie Hayes, next year’s junior club captain, finishing runner-up. Boys’ Golfer of the Year was Tom Hancock and Jake Blackwell was runner-up. The Division Two winners were Charlie Rosen and Lucy Hucker.

Katie Hayes and Oscar Rait played the final of the Mark Howell junior knockout. Katie, handicap 10, was giving six shots to Oscar and it was a tight game from the start.

Oscar scored well on the long holes but Katie’s short game gave her a slight lead at half-way. Oscar pulled back and had a chance to draw level on 14 but didn’t quite make the putts.

Wins by him at 15 and 16 got the game back to level with two holes to play but Katie’s steady play allowed her to win on the 18th.

Meanwhile, the trio of John Downey, Mario Atkinson and Lynne Rumbold were the victors in the Alternate Boxing Day Bash competition at Caversham Heath.

Downey (7hcp), Atkinson (7hcp) and Rumbold (23hcp) won on countback from Edward Houghton (12hcp), Darren Bonney (4hcp)and Wayne Mayers (8hcp), both teams with 63 points. Third were Damian Cleary (15hcp), James Carter (9hcp) and Colin Stoute (15hcp) with 62 points.

Twos were recorded by Michael Beaumont, Gareth Goodall and Duncan Mee, all on the 13th hole.

Michael Beaumont (6hcp) took the Division 1 honours in the Midweek Stableford with 39 points. Second was Matt Robertson (4hcp) with 38 points and third was Andy King (11hcp) with 37 points. Robertson scored five birdies and one nil return in his round while King had a costly bogey on his last hole.

Division 2 winner was Stewart Osler (26hcp) with 34 points. Runner-up was Steve Wright (23hcp) with 26 points and third was Toby Joyce (26hcp) with 22 points.

Twos were recorded by Beaumont and Scott Iremonger (both on the 8th hole) and by Clive Adamson (13th hole).

The Junior Stableford was won by Callum Peart (6hcp) with 38 points. Second was Matt Robertson (4hcp) with 37 points and third was James Millard (6hcp) with 36 points.

More News:

POLL: Have your say