Monday, 10 December 2018

New work to dazzle audience

WEST Forest Sinfonia return to Reading University for the first concert of the autumn season.

The programme will include Mahler’s 1st Symphony Titan, a reminder of the orchestra’s opener last season which featured a performance of Mahler’s 5th Symphony.

The first symphony requires additional instrumentalists which will also join the line-up to perform the world première of a new work by Roger May, Blazing Sun.

The composer lives in Reading and was the winner of the West Forest Composition Competition in 2008 with Flight to the Iolite.

Roger said: “When approached to write a new work for the West Forest Sinfonia, I wanted to create something on a grand scale that could fully utilise the available instrumentation.

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say