Tuesday, 20 November 2018

Henley Symphony Orchestra nib ghg

BRUCH’S violin concerto, one of the world’s most popular romantic concertos will be performed as part of Henley Symphony Orchestra’s next concert.

The concerto, which Bruch rewrote several times before the final version was performed in 1868, was quickly taken up by all the great violinists of the day and continues to be a firm favourite for soloists and audiences alike.

Callum Smart, winner of the strings category of the 2010 BBC Young Musicians Competition at the age of thirteen, will be the exciting violinist in Reading Concert Hall on Sunday, November 6.

The concert is completed with Nielsen’s atmospheric Helios overture depicting the sun rising over the Aegean sea, and Dvorak’s seventh symphony.

Commissioned and given its premier in St James Hall in London in April 1885 the symphony is an intoxicating mix of dark sentiment and warm lyrical slavonic inspired melody.

The concert is at 4pm. Box office 01235 859210 or via www.henleysymphonyorchestra.co.uk

Bruchs Violin Concerto in the glorious acoustics of the Reading Concert Hall

The programme begins with an atmospheric overture by Nielsen and concludes with Dvorak’s symphony number seven, acknowledged as being his greatest, having a darker edge as well as the lyrical themes typical of his music.

The concert is at 4.0pm in Reading Concert Hall on Sunday 6th November.

Box office number is 01235 859210 or via www.henleysymphony orchestra.co.uk

More News:

Latest video from

VIDEO: Tributes paid after rugby player's death

POLL: Have your say