Friday, 12 August 2022

Bulls take advantage of player injuries

DESPITE the odd burst of hail and a blustery crosswind the Bulls delivered one of their

DESPITE the odd burst of hail and a blustery crosswind the Bulls delivered one of their best performances of the season.

Guy Wilson, who has been performing well with the Vikings, joined Charlie Nixon in the second row and Ross Gilbert returned from his university studies to replace Tommy Haynes, who missed out due to illness.

Neither side lit up the beautiful Eltham College surroundings during the first 25 minutes as possession switched hands continually as the slippery ball seemed to stifle both teams’ ability to carry out any quality phase play.

Elthamians adopted a kicking approach whilst the Bulls pressed with their pack driving tight around the breakdown but this gave away too many penalties to maintain pressure.

James Comben opened the Bulls account with a straightforward penalty kick as Elthamians failed to support their weight at the breakdown.

Just before the end of the first half Louis Flynn bustled his way over the line following one of many line-breaks and offloads from centre partner Toby Davies whose direct running lines provided huge momentum for the Bulls throughout the game. Comben landed the extras from a much tougher angle to take the Bulls in at 0-10.

As the second half began Elthamians suffered injuries to key back row players and with this their potency in attack and ability to defend diminished.

Cecil MacCarthy trundled through the Elthamians defence near the left touch line 20 metres out and the slick delivery put Luc Govier over the try-line on the right flank.

For the remaining 25 minutes the bulk of possession fell to the Bulls although their defence stood firm when Elthamians did attempt to break them down the left flank.

The win was secured when captain Louis Flynn completed his second brace of tries in two weeks and Toby Davies also picked up a well-deserved try. Bull secured a bonus point as they look to climb the table in the Zoo League Division 1.

Henley Bulls: Cecil MacCarthy, Harry Jackson, George Primett, Guy Wilson, Charlie Nixon, James Scott, Archie McGowan, Ross Gilbert (Toby Howe 52 minutes), Fred Taylor, James Comben, Dyneal Fessal, Toby Davies, Louis Flynn, Luc Govier (Ross Lewis 54 minutes), Jack Bradford, Jamie Hillman.

More News:

POLL: Have your say